Official list of 12 Labour MPs standing down

WriteYou is Britain's non-partisan social newspaper. You can follow our General Election Coverage here. If you enjoy our coverage please do consider becoming a member for £5 a month and supporting our mission for a non-partisan comment platform here. Get involved in the discussion by commenting on this article or WriteYou discussion by clicking here 


I have been passed a copy of the official list of Labour MPs standing down that has been sent to Labour's NEC. 

Steve Rotheram, who by text told me yesterday he was unlikely to stand, is now in fact standing. Certainly Joe Anderson's decision to run must certainly have played a big factor in Steve's decision making process.

Here is the full list with updated article on runners and riders to come. 


Dave Anderson - Blaydon

Tom Blenkinsop - Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland

Andrew Burnham - Leigh

Jim Dowd - Lewisham West & Penge

Pat Glass - North West Durham

Alan Johnson - Hull West and Hessle

Fiona Mactaggart  - Slough

Rob Marris - Wolverhampton South West

Andrew Smith - Oxford East

Gisela Stuart - Birmingham, Edgbaston

Iain Wright – Hartlepool

Michael Dugher – Barnsley East

Argue the issues with like minded people by leaving a comment below or joining the discussion here

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.